Will I have to Spend Time in Jail for an Arizona DUI?

If you are facing DUI charges in Arizona, you might be concerned about whether you will have to spend time in jail. After all, DUI is a serious offense that could haunt you for years to come. Any DUI charge in Arizona should not be taken lightly because the state has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. All Arizona DUI convictions do call for jail time, but depending on your charges and your prior convictions, you might be able to get most of your sentence suspended and significantly less time in jail for an Arizona DUI, if you adhere to specific guidelines.

New laws enacted by the Arizona legislature allow a reduction in the mandatory jail time served before a sentence is suspended so long as an ignition interlock device is installed on your vehicle as soon as your license is reinstated. As an example, a conviction for extreme DUI in Arizona used to require a minimum sentence of 30 days in jail before the rest of the time could be suspended. Now, if you agree to the installation of an ignition interlock device, your sentence can be suspended after you serve as few as 9 days in jail. A super extreme DUI conviction used to require at least 45 days in jail before the sentence could be suspended, but now that can happen after only 14 days served in jail.

Could I Get Alternative Sentencing to Shorten My Jail Time?

Depending on the charges, criminal history, and your situation, you might be eligible for some alternative sentencing. For example, if you are a first-time offender, you might be able to serve your time at night and on the weekends while being allowed work release, so you can go to work during the day. In some situations, convicted offenders can wear an ankle bracelet and serve home detention, which allows them to travel within a specified perimeter. The ankle bracelet is closely monitored to make sure that the convicted individual does not go outside the permitted boundaries.

You will need a criminal defense attorney to represent you for your Arizona DUI charges. A lawyer will protect your rights and help negotiate your sentence. With the help of a lawyer, you might end up spending less time in jail for an Arizona DUI. However, other penalties faced by an individual convicted of Arizona DUI include fines, fees, and the suspension of their driver’s license. Some penalties cannot be reduced or switched for an alternative form of punishment, but some can and that will make a significant difference in your overall situation and the time that you serve in jail.

How Do Arizona DUI Penalties Work?

Any previous DUI convictions, your blood alcohol content (BAC), and the circumstances surrounding your conviction all play a role in the sentence that you will receive for your DUI. As an example, a BAC of .08 percent to .14 percent will result in a DUI charge and a charge of DUI with a BAC over .08 percent. If your BAC is higher than .15 percent, you will be charged with Arizona DUI, DUI with a BAC over .08 percent, and Arizona extreme DUI. Of course, an extreme DUI will lead to a higher penalty than a first-offense DUI. In Arizona, you can face DUI charges even if your BAC is below the legal limit of .08 percent just so long as the officer has reason to believe that you are affected by the alcohol and unable to safely operate a vehicle. Arizona DUI charges should not be taken lightly, consult with an Arizona DUI law attorney today.


Effects of DUI Conviction on Employment in Arizona

Broadway Boulevard & the Sunshine Mile


Leave a Comment